June 4, 2022 Meet Recap

(Shown above Men’s Shot Put Winners, left to right : Kyle Clabough, Sam Cappos and Zach Petko)

The first met of the summer Thrower’s League series is in the bag. Due to the early date and the fact that some schools were still in session, attendance was smaller than usual. That didn’t detract from some great competitions, however. It was a perfect day for throwing at beautiful Hammerman Field, cool and breezy. Since attendance was lower, all competitors were allowed 6 throws. Even with fewer athletes, competition was at a high level and several Hammerman Field records fell on this day.

In the men’s hammer throw, Hammerman teammates Javaris Ambrose and Diego Campos had a spirited competition in the High School division. Javaris prevailed with a fine throw of 53.70 meters (176’ 3”). In the women’s High School division, girls state 2A champ, Olivia Campbell put up a fine throw of 48.35 meters (158’ 8”) to win the competition. Olivia, with her multiple throwing talents, will be attending Southern Illinois University in the fall.

In the men’s shot put, Illinois 3A two-time State Shot Put champ, Kyle Clabough, and Sam Cappos engaged in a tough competition.  Kyle prevailed with a throw of 18.27 meters (59’11”) to set a new high school boys field record! Way to go Kyle! Kyle will be attending the University of Wisconsin in the fall where he will continue his multi-event throwing career.

The men’s discus also had some great competition in the High School division. Sam Cappos avenged his 2nd place in the Shot Put with a field record throw of 53.93 (176’ 11”) to win the competition.

The summer is heating up and so are our Hammerman Throwers League meets. The next meet is June 18th and it is at full capacity. The Boas, Coyotes, and Turner School of Throws clubs are returning in full force.

Men’s Hammer Throw Winners (L to R): Javaris Ambrose, Diego Campos, Sam Cappos

Women’s Hammer Throw Winners (L to R): Olivia Campbell, Gabriella Yaccino, Faith Helton

Men’s Discus Winners (L to R): Sam Cappos, Zach Petko, Javaris Ambrose

Women’s Javelin Winners (L to R): Peyton Panka, Arisa Bisofa, Faith Helton

Throwers are discovering the great competition held at Hammerman Field, Throwing Mecca of the Midwest! Competition is heating up in the Thrower’s League Standings. Visit the standings page to see your point totals!